X Close Menu

H&I Diamonds

Renowned diamond experts across Edinburgh, Scotland and the UK - Hamilton & Inches carefully selects each of its precious stones. The trained and passionate eyes of our in-house specialists ensure that all Hamilton & Inches diamonds are of exceptional quality.

The Four C's

The process of choosing the perfect diamond combines the extensive expertise of our buyers and gemmologists, with the universally recognised gradations used by all diamond dealers and jewellers: ‘The Four Cs’ – Colour, Clarity, Cut and Carat Weight.


Colour reflects the tone and vivacity of your diamond, starting at D, ‘colourless,’ and continuing through the alphabet increasing in darkness. Stones ranging up to N are seen in most jewellery, but as a general rule Hamilton & Inches only ever carries diamonds from D to G.


Clarity is determined by the number of inclusions in your diamond, and is graded from ‘Flawless’ (F) to ‘Included, Grade 3’ (I3). Hamilton & Inches never works with stones below Very Slight Inclusions (VS) and always carries examples of the finest diamonds, graded at F or Internally Flawless (IF).


Cut refers to your diamond’s sparkle. The cutter’s skill lies in maximising a stone's natural brilliance, releasing its inner fire and dispersing light through its crown in a glorious burst. It is what causes one stone to be dull, another acceptable and a third magic. Hamilton & Inches always selects magic.

Carat Weight

Carat relates to your diamond’s weight. One carat is equal to a fifth of a gram. Two diamonds with the same qualities will differ in value as they diverge in weight because of the rarity of heavier stones. Hamilton & Inches carries beautiful diamonds in a variety of carat weights.



Wechat QR code